Attacking Military Wives Is Plain Old Mean

Dave G. | October 30th, 2006 | Filed Under: Industry Punditry

So while googling for some current events stories, one of the top hits directed me to a website called soloops.com. A seemingly innocent website supposedly dedicated to “Advice, resources and support forums for military wives.”. Either military wives are attacking random internet users, or random internet users are attacking military wives.

Alas, it appears that someone is abusing their forums to direct people to “fdghewrtewrtyrew.biz” and “zdgbrowfaa.biz”, which proceed to attack the browsers of military wives and other casual websurfers with .biziness end of a number of (old) browser attacks (I counted 4 before I got bored).

That is when I googled for soloops.com. On the first results page, I see a SiteAdvisor link and think to myself, “Aha! There we go. I’m just a moron.”. Here is what the site has to say:

SiteAdvisor

Notice the “We tested this site and didn’t find any significant problems.” and then further below the “We have not tested any downloads on this site.”. What tests do they actually perform? If it involved a web browser, and was performed regularly, they might have noticed xpl.wmf being downloaded.

Thanks SiteAdvisor!

ps: The Cardinals won the world series in St. Louis,a city that just won the prestigious award of “Most Dangerous US City To Live In”. In related news, “Web 2.0” is built on top of the web browser/web server security architectures.

3 Comments so far

  • _ryan

    October 31st, 2006 12:05 am

    The ladies are using Invision board, forum software known for gaping holes. Those two .biz sites are quite well known in malware circles, serving up IFrame exploits (mostly wmf) and hosing machines with spyware.

    _r

  • Gunnar

    October 31st, 2006 12:36 am

    wrt your ps. yup.
    “The actual XML message is contained in the HTTP request and security is provided by HTTPS, which is the secure version of HTTP. This, in a nutshell, is virtually everything that a Web service user or creator needs to know about REST.”

    As the Streets say “It was sposed to be so easy…”

    More: http://1raindrop.typepad.com/1_raindrop/2006/05/web_20_and_secu.html

  • Chris_B

    October 31st, 2006 1:44 am

    Soon the Verisign goons will be able to sell these people some more “security” to trick the browser even more.

    BTW I thought Web 2.0 was built on top of a dungheap. Guess I was wrong.

  • Leave a reply